ServicesServices

The various services provided by Thermtech in the field of new, expanded or renovated homes, encompass the full spectrum of activities from the designing of the house, to drawing up the plans, to the management of construction sites. Thermtech also offers expertise services, whether to they are to advise, solve problems or document litigation. Thermtech is also actively involved in research and development in order to enhance and improve construction techniques as well as develop new products for optimizing energy efficiency in buildings.

The design of the homes is carried out in close collaboration with our customers' needs. Various techniques have thus been exploited to date:

  • Active and passive solar energy;
  • High energy-efficient structure and insulation;
  • Straw bale home;
  • Post and beam construction home;
  • Scandinavian-style log home;
  • Integrated greenhouses and solariums;
  • Insulated concrete forms constructions;
  • Green roofs;

The design

The designing of spaces, facades and the immediate environment of a house (new, expansion, renovation) is always conducted in close collaboration with our client, taking particular care in integrating his or her needs, whether spontaneously expressed or not, so that with our contribution, the actual elaboration of the house culminates into a truly personalized home.

While the process requires an open-mindedness on the part of our client, it requires just as much of ourselves : we must be sensitive to the client's preferences and not confine ourselves to our own personal tastes. Generally, the design of a house begins with the layout and orientation of interior spaces (rooms, traffic areas, outside access, ..) taking into account sunlight, exterior views, intimacy,…. Various alternatives are offered, each provided with their respective advantages and inconveniences, hence favoring enlightened choices. The elaboration of facades is in keeping with the conception of the interior design and can thus take on many forms and styles. One could envision the design process as following a funnel-like action where everything becomes increasingly focused towards the ultimate goal of a personalized home able to satisfy our customers' needs and assure their future well-being.

Natural lighting and the sense of spaciousness are common features highlighted by our customers. Energy efficiency and the use of passive solar heating combined with a high-performance building shell and indoor air quality are major assets of our homes.

The drawing of plans

In conjunction with the design of the house, the latter is drawn using computer-aided technology in our workshop along with the elaboration of both technical and esthetic details in order to ensure a house that is desirable, efficient and easy to build. The detailed plans can henceforth be used to obtain permits and for a construction without surprises.

On the plans are included:

  • the facades and clear and precise plans for each level of construction;
  • efficient and easy-to-implement technical details;
  • detailed construction descriptions.

The detailed plans thereby allow for a reliable estimation of building costs and a construction without surprises. Coupled with a conscientious and responsible design, the plans also aim to minimize construction costs.

The construction : management of construction sites

You can consult the article by Yves Perrier (in French) on this topic entitled «Construction de maison : gestionnaire de projet ou entrepreneur général» at the following link http://www.guidesperrier.com/immobilier_construction/maisons_neuves/frame_immo_maison.html

Once the plans are prepared, the customer can then choose to have his/her house constructed through a general contractor with or without external verification of the work, or ask us to manage the construction site. In such event, specialized contractors are chosen by mutual agreement and paid by the customer at cost. Building materials can also be purchased directly from building supplies dealers along with discounts normally granted to building contractors. Site management services include:

  • a detailed estimate of construction costs;
  • close follow-up of construction work;
  • efficient scheduling of trades;
  • resolution of the technical difficulties and potential conflicts;
  • record of quantities and ordering of materials when required;
  • administrative follow-up with the collecting of appropriate documents (permits, invoices, account statements,…) and periodic summary of payments to be made.

Under the above conditions, each specialized contractor is responsible for his work and guarantees such work notwithstanding that monitoring and follow-up of the construction site by independent professionals minimizes the risk of construction defects.

 

Technical expertise

Independently of the work leading to the construction of a house, Thermtech also provides services in technical building expertise aimed at :

  • providing technical advice in home construction or renovation (plans, construction, renovation, technical details,…);
  • solving technical problems in existing buildings (drainage, structure,…);
  • documenting construction defects for purposes of mediation or resolution in a court of law.

Over one thousand expertises have been conducted to date, notably in collaboration with more than sixty lawyers and more than forty court appearances as an expert witness. The theoretical and practical knowledge gained from studies in engineering and architecture as well as that acquired on the various construction and renovation sites provide us with a solid foundation for ensuring reliable and professional expertise that are valued by our customers, lawyers and the courts alike.

 

R&D activities

Since the early '80s, Thermtech has been active in research and development work in the field of energy efficiency and solar energy applied to buildings. Several construction principles developed by Thermtech are now incorporated in the construction industry, notably in the technical requirements for Quebec's energy-efficient home construction program, Novoclimat.

Another example is the development of the Integrated Mechanical System (IMS), which assembles under a single device the ventilation of spaces (fresh air and recirculation), space heating, domestic water heating and space cooling (for further details, see SMI under Achievements, R&D). A simplified version of this device enables the recovery of solar energy surpluses present in buildings for domestic water heating and partial space heating (for more information, see the article in french "Chauffez mieux, polluez moins'').

Research and development work has been done with the support of CMHC (Canadian Mortgage and Housing Canada), NRC (Natural Ressources Canada), NRCC (National Research Center of Canada), EMR (Energy, Mines and Ressources Canada), RNQué (Natural Ressources Québec).

ServicesServices

Les services fournis par Thermtech dans le domaine des maison neuves, agrandies ou rénovées, couvrent le cycle complet depuis la conception des maisons, le dessin des plans et la gérance des chantiers de construction. Un service d’expertise est également offert par Thermtech, que ce soit pour conseiller, résoudre des problèmes ou documenter des litiges. Thermtech effectue aussi des travaux de recherche et développement pour améliorer les techniques de construction et pour développer des produits en vue d'optimiser l'efficacité énergétique des bâtiments.

La conception des maisons se fait en collaboration étroite suivant les besoins des clients. C’est ainsi que diverses techniques ont déjà été exploitées :

  • solaire passif et actif;
  • structure et isolation à haute efficacité énergétique;
  • maison en ballots de paille;
  • maison à structure en bois massif Poutres et Poteaux;
  • maison en bois rond de style scandinave;
  • serres et solariums intégrés;
  • construction avec coffrages isolants;
  • toit végétal;

La conception

La conception des espaces, des façades et de l’environnement immédiat d’une maison (neuf, agrandissement, rénovation) se fait toujours en collaboration étroite avec notre client en prenant bien soin d’intégrer ses besoins, spontanément exprimés ou non, de sorte qu’avec notre contribution, l’élaboration de la maison aboutit à sa maison personnalisée.

Si le processus demande de l’ouverture d’esprit de la part de notre client, il en demande autant de nous-même : nous devons être sensible à ses préférences et ne pas nous cantonner dans nos goûts personnels. De façon générale, la conception d’une maison commence par la disposition et l’orientation des espaces intérieurs (pièces, zones de circulations, accès vers l’extérieur,..) en tenant compte de l’ensoleillement, des vues extérieures, de l’intimité,…. Différentes alternatives sont développées tout en précisant les avantages et inconvénients de chacune d’entre elles, favorisant ainsi des choix éclairés. Le développement des façades découle de l’aménagement intérieur et peut aussi prendre plusieurs formes et styles. De façon imagée, le processus de conception suit une forme d’entonnoir où tout se précise de plus en plus pour aboutir à la maison personnalisée qui sera à même d’assouvir les besoins de nos clients et de susciter leur bien-être dans le futur.

La luminosité naturelle et l’impression d’espace sont soulignées par nos clients. L’efficacité énergétique avec l’utilisation du solaire passif combinée à une enveloppe performante et la qualité de l’air intérieur sont des atouts majeurs de nos maisons.

 

Le dessin des plans

Simultanément à la conception de la maison, celle-ci est dessinée par ordinateur dans notre atelier avec l’élaboration de détails techniques et esthétiques pour en arriver à une maison désirable, efficace et facile à construire. Les plans détaillés peuvent alors servir pour l’obtention des permis et pour une construction sans surprise.

On trouvera sur les plans :

  • des façades et les plans de chaque niveau clairs et précis;
  • des détails techniques efficaces et faciles à réaliser;
  • des descriptions qui précisent la construction.

Les plans conduisent ainsi à un coût estimé de construction fiable et à une construction sans surprises. Associés à une conception réfléchie et responsable, les plans visent aussi à minimiser les coûts de construction.

 

La construction : gestion de chantiers

Voir à ce sujet l’article de Yves Perrier «Construction de maison : gestionnaire de projet ou entrepreneur général» dans le lien http://www.guidesperrier.com/immobilier_construction/maisons_neuves/frame_immo_maison.html

Après l’élaboration des plans, le client peut choisir de faire construire sa maison par un entrepreneur général avec ou sans vérification externe des travaux ou il peut aussi nous demander de gérer son chantier de construction. Dans ce cas, les entrepreneurs spécialisés sont choisis de commun accord et payés par le client au prix coûtant. Les matériaux de construction peuvent alors aussi être achetés directement chez les marchands de matériaux avec les rabais consentis aux entrepreneurs. La gérance de chantier offre :

  • une estimation détaillée des coûts de construction;
  • un suivi serré des travaux;
  • une cédule efficace des différents corps de métiers;
  • la résolution des difficultés techniques et conflits éventuels;
  • le relevé des quantités et la commande des matériaux aux moments requis;
  • un suivi administratif avec la récolte des documents (permis, factures, états de comptes,…) et le résumé périodique des paiements à faire.

Dans ces conditions, chaque entrepreneur spécialisé est responsable de son travail et garantit celui-ci tout en tenant compte qu’une surveillance et un suivi de chantier professionnels indépendants, minimisent les risques de défauts.

 

L’expertise technique

Indépendamment des travaux qui mènent à la construction d’une maison, Thermtech fourni aussi un service d’expertise technique dans le bâtiment ayant pour but de :

  • fournir des conseils techniques pour des maisons à construire ou à rénover (plans, construction, rénovation, détails techniques,…);
  • résoudre des problèmes techniques dans le cas de bâtiments existants (drainage, structure,…);
  • documenter des vices de construction pour fin de médiation ou de résolution à la cour de justice.

Un millier d’expertises ont été conduites à ce jour, notamment en collaboration avec plus de soixante avocats et plus de quarante présences à la cour à titre de témoin expert. Les connaissances théoriques et pratiques acquises par les études en ingénierie et en architecture ainsi que sur les chantiers de construction et de rénovation nous donnent une base solide pour fournir des expertises professionnelles fiables et appréciées par nos clients, les avocats et à la cour.

 

Les travaux de R&D

Depuis le début des années '80, Thermtech effectue des travaux de recherche et développement dans le domaine de l'efficacité énergétique et de l'énergie solaire appliqués au bâtiment. Plusieurs principes de construction mis au point par Thermtech se retrouvent dans l'industrie de la construction, notamment dans les exigences techniques du programme de construction de maisons à haute efficacité énergétique du Québec, Novoclimat.

Autre exemple, le SMI développé (pour Système Mécanique Intégré) rassemble en un seul appareil la ventilation des locaux (recirculation et renouvellement de l'air), le chauffage des locaux, le chauffage de l'eau domestique et la climatisation des locaux (rafraîchissement) (pour plus de détails voir ci-joint le SMI). Une version simplifiée de cet appareil permet de récupérer les surplus d'énergie d'origine solaire ou autres à l'intérieur du bâtiment pour chauffer l'eau domestique et différer le chauffage passif des locaux (voir à ce sujet l'article joint ''Chauffez mieux, polluez moins'').

Les différents travaux de R&D effectués à ce jour ont été faits avec le support de la SCHL (Société Canadienne d'Hypothèques et de Logement), RNCan (Ressources Naturelles Canada), CNRC (Conseil National de la Recherche du Canada), EMRCan (Énergie Mines et Ressources Canada), RNQué (Ressources Naturelles Québec).